Thursday Thirteen #8 – Book edition

May 2, 2007 at 11:00 pm | Posted in Thursday Thirteen | 13 Comments

Yup, a little simpler this time around… but long hours at work and up late at night have left me exhausted and not so creative. So, with that…

flowerstt1.jpg

Thirteen Books on my shelf just waiting to be read!!!1. Red Azalea by Anchee Mann

2. What the Body Remembers – Shauna Singh Baldwin

3. Comfort Women y Nora Okja Keller

4. The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan

5. Hotel Pastis by Peter Mayle

6. Wintering: A Novel of Sylvia Plath by Kate Moses

7. Water Witches by Chris Bojahlian

8. Dropped Threads edited by Carol Shields and Marjorie Anderson

9. Map of the World by Jane Hamilton

10. The Stone Carvers by Jane Urquhart

11. The Bondwoman’s Narrative by Hannah Crafts, edited by Henry Louis Gates Jr.

12. All My Sisters by Judith Lennox

13. 25 Years of Ms. Magazine

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Interesting list, thanks for the suggestions. I did one like this a while ago. (see http://tinalinacwill.blogspot.com/2007/03/thursday-thirteen-31.html)

  2. Those should keep you busy for a while.

  3. I love book TT’s! 7 sounds intriguing! Thanks for the tips.
    My TT lists the 13 goals of a witch, with my thoughts on them.

  4. I really loved a couple of those! The Bojahlian is not as good as his other books (IMO) but still definitely worth reading.

  5. I read both What the Body Remembers and Comfort Woman; one was great and the other, sadly, didn’t do much for me, but I won’t tell which got which vote; you’ll have to read them and decide for yourself!

    Happy reading and have a great TT!

  6. Books seem to be the topic du jour on TT’s this week. Wonderful to learn about new books.

  7. Thursday Thirteen: 13 Creative Uses for Cereal Bag Liners

    If your family eats boxed dry cereals do you just toss out those plastic bags when the box is empty? Before you throw out another plastic cereal liner bag, consider saving them to reuse.
    Here are a few creative ways you can recycle the bags…

    M…

  8. You sound like me. I have a stack of books calling out for me to read them, yet there they sit lonely on the bookshelf. One of these days…

  9. I haven’t read any of these yet, but a couple of them are on my books to read list too.

  10. Comfort Women has caught my eye a few times. I must add it to my To Read List.

    LOVED Kitchen God’s Wife. Any Amy Tan, really. Though, I am behind on her newest books.

    Water Witches? I read Chris’ other book, Midwife something. LOVED it. May have to read this too.

    Dropped Threads sounds neat. I liked Stone Diaries.

    I love Bookish 13s.

  11. I love book 13’s because it gives me new ideas for readinglists!

  12. I think The Kitchen God’s Wife might be on my TBR shelf too. Thanks for sharing your list!

  13. Oh you MUST MUST MUST read What The body Remembers next. 😛 Dropped Threads made me cry sometimes it was so good. 😛


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

