National Day of Truthtelling

April 28, 2007 at 1:48 pm | Posted in activism, Violence | 3 Comments

itisbettertospeak.gif

Today, April 28th, is the National Day of Truthtelling taking place in Durham, North Carolina.

Although I am far away, my spirits are there with all my sisters who are telling the truth today and working to end violence against women. The Day of Truthtelling gets to the heart of stopping violence against women.

To heal – we must tell the truth.

To change – we must tell the truth.

To raise our voices – we must tell the truth.

To be believed – we must tell the truth.

To support one another – we must tell the truth.

To stop the violence – we must tell the truth.

I believe every single woman who says she is raped. Every. Single. Woman. I believe her when she says she said no. I believe her when she says she fought back. I believe her even if she says she was enjoying it but then changed her mind later. I believe her if she was wearing “sexy” clothes. I believe her no matter her sexual history. I BELIEVE HER.

Because No Means No. It doesn’t mean maybe later, or I’ll think about it, or keep talking me into it because I don’t really mean it, or… (insert anything here!!!!). NO MEANS NO!

So I will believe every single woman who says that she was raped, that she didn’t want it, that she didn’t understand it was rape, that she thought it was her fault and so she didn’t know it was rape. I will believe her. Because the hardest most painful, most difficult part of stopping violence against women, of healing oneself and violence, is to tell the truth about what happened to you. Not even to tell the truth to the world – but to tell it to yourself. To admit it to yourself. To speak the words.

So any woman who says she has been a victim of violence – I will believe her.

And that is the key to ending violence.

So today, my heart and passions are with all the women gathered from across North America who have come to march in solidarity in Durham, North Carolina, who will be attending teach-ins and workshops and speaking out their truths to eachother and to themselves.

Today is a Day of Truthtelling – but so should everyday be one.

Artemis. 

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] 3:21 pm | In activism, Violence | A bit more about the National Day of Truthtelling as mentioned here […]

  2. […] Artemis from One Woman Army […]

  3. […] Check out Tigera Consciente Sylvia Empowerment4Women The Last Nerve Artemis One Woman Army […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

