The wage gap, student survival & blogging for pleasure

January 20, 2007 at 3:22 pm | Posted in moi, women's work | 4 Comments

Its no news to any readers here (I hope) both that students are poor and women are still behind in the wage gap.

I, unfortunately, fit into both categories. I have been in university for 10 years now, working in various forms of my undergraduate degree then master’s degree – always working other jobs – to pay for my education. I managed to avoid the trap of student debt up until my master’s degree. But despite getting *minimal* funding (women’s studies is at the bottom of the funding ladder at my university), I still had to go and get my first student loan and now find myself $25,000 in debt four years later.

I have worked some fabulous jobs – some upaid – many of them at wages far beneath their worth for the value of the job opportunity. Campus newspaper editors, graphic design work, student union work, union organization work – all amazing wonderful job experience. Now childcare. And I have watched numerous of my male colleagues and friends be able to later on maneuver these jobs into high paying jobs, or, on the flip side, working the same work as me and getting paid more for it.

All that said, I still find myself on the track of wanting to pay for my education (and my general lifestyle and what not) through things that I enjoy and are of benefit to me personally. No McDonald’s job or Walmart job for this chicky. So, loyal readers, I have no qualms of signing up for PayPerPost – as referred by fellow blogger extraordinaire Gypsy Princess.

Payperpost will allow me to pick and choose to occasionally write about products on this site while being paid for it. The great thing about PayPerPost (I’ve done some pretty extensive research) is that you can write about the product however you choose. GypsyPrincess does a great job of this – writing about something she had actually already planned to write about but then dropping in a few sentences about a relevant product into the post – all the while getting paid for it. I did share her initial concerns about selling out – but as my rationale above explains, I don’t want to have to take a walmart job and would much rather get paid to do something I really love to do.

So be on the look out for the occasional post (I’m going to be very picky, don’t worry about that) and please stick around, support me loyal readers!!!!!

Artemis

ps – on a separate note, some of you may have noticed the OhMiBod ad on the side. This was a separate initiative of mine after discovering it through another feminist blogger and I am soooo in awe of the technology that has put music and pleasure together. And I am a huge proponent of women’s pleasure and will be purchasing one myself šŸ™‚ So check it out, and let me know what you think!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. *sigh*

    Stop blaming society for your poor personal choices.

    I wish I could be paid $500,000 a year to study Tomkat’s relationship, but I made the choice to sacrifice a little bit of personal pleasure for financial stability.

    Women who work as hard as men do just as well if not better. It’s lazy/stupid women like you who think you deserve to be paid the same amount for less work.

  2. Love the new layout!

    My two cents: I don’t think it’s “selling out” if the motive behind it is something noble, such as helping to pay for education. Of course, maybe I’m biased, having recently taken out a $19,000 loan for a degree as well.

    At any rate, I support you in it!

  3. Wow, I was going to comment on the interesting PayPerPost idea, but I think I’d just like to say that I don’t think you are complaining at all. Or doing less work. And I love the writing!

  4. […] So to clarify, please check out this post from January – The Wage Gap, Student Survival, and Blogging for Pleasure. […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

