All I want for Christmas…

December 24, 2006 at 4:30 am | Posted in activism, Feminism, status of women canada, Taking Action | Leave a comment

Dear Santa,

Its been quite a few years since I’ve written, but I’m sure to be on your good list this year! I’ve been so well-behaved – no name-calling, back-stabbing, putting gum in people’s hair – nothing like that. I’ve been an angel, so I’d like to ask for a few things for Christmas.

All I really want for Christmas is the funding to Status of Women Canada restored and equality put back in its mandate. If there’s one thing you can bring me – this is it! SWC has done so much for women’s equality in Canada over the years, and the work isn’t done yet. If you can’t do it on your own, how about getting every woman in Canada to email Bev Oda on Christmas Day to ask her for it as our Christmas gift? Here’s how to reach her: odab1@parl.gc.ca

What else would I like for Christmas? A job that pays the same wage as my male friends, all wrapped up in a stocking with a big red bow.

The Court Challenges Program restored in Canada – how can we challenge the government on women’s equality without it?

A t-shirt for every day of the week – This is What a Feminist Looks Like! Wear it loud and wear it proud!

t15pink_lg.jpg

Safe streets to walk on, safe bars to dance in, safe drinks to drink. How hard is that? Can you get it for me by New Year’s Eve?

What I really want for Christmas? Time with my family and friends. A home to call my own. And the knowledge of what it used to be like to be a feminist – because in my Christmas gift, feminism is no longer needed since we’re living in a post-patriarchy.

Hey, I said I’d been good, so I figured I’d make my list big 🙂 That’s what Christmas wishes are all about!

Happy Holidays everyone, whatever holiday you may be choosing to celebrate!

Artemis

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

