Feminist Five…

November 12, 2006 at 1:14 pm | Posted in activism, Feminism, status of women canada | Leave a comment

As a move against the Canadian Federal Governments massive cuts to Status of Women Canada and need for equality, Progressive Bloggers launched a campaign during the month of October “Five Things Feminism Has Done for Me”. Looks like people are still taking part, and there’s no end to the amazing lists that people are coming up with.

One of my recent favorites courtesy of jenleman:

FemFive

My own feminist five list keeps growing, depending on the mood of the day.

1) Feminism gave me women’s studies, the choice of higher education, and the ability to pursue my dreams.

2) Feminism gave me the right to be an independent woman who lives on her own, supports herself, can travel, write, work, be single and unmarried and without children still at the age of 27!

3) Feminism gave me the right to choose to not have children.

4) Feminism gave me The Vagina Monologues – the sources of so much power, freedom, and voice for myself and so many other women.

5) Feminism gave me the right to TALK! To refuse to be silenced, to stand up and shout, to voice my opinions and ideas.

-Artemis.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

