Roots

May 7, 2006 at 11:46 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Lately I am at such odds.
I thought it was a passing phase perhaps, one that went away with the month of March. But I’m finding now that its still here, a restlessness that doesn’t seem to want to leave me.

Restless. To find something new, to find a sense of where I am to be, who I am to be, to plant roots but leave at the same time.

I am homesick.

I am living in this wonderful place I have come to call home, but I am intensely, bitterly homesick. I want to go home. To the place I grew up in. To my family. Friends. To the connectedness of history.

I can only develop so much history here. No one knows me. Knows my history. That is all in another place.

I miss it.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I get that way when I move. Something reminds you of your old history and you get down for a few motnhs. You feel like you can’t get your footing in the new place, that you have no friends and probably can’t have any.

    It really does pass, it just lasts longer than you think sometimes.

  2. I’m assuming you’re in the maritimes somewheres dere bye. I love the east coast. I’m sorry you’re feeling out of place there. If you don’t love it in the springtime, will you make it through the winter? Maybe, like Ragnell says, it’ll just take some time; you might come round by summer.


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

