In refuge…

January 5, 2006 at 8:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

“Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.”
– Maya Angelou


This photograph really has nothing to do with the weather outside, the season, the time, or even the place. Sometimes I need to remind myself why I’ve left the places I’ve been, why I’ve come to the place I’m in now. What I miss, what I don’t miss. What I’m doing here, why I continue to stay here. Looking at photographs of places I’ve lived, places I’ve loved and continue to love, helps me to do that.

***

It’s a crazy wind outside today. The tree branches, speckled with ice, tap at my window while freezing rain pelts at the glass. After a few days of working hard at home, I’ve allotted myself today to do nearly nothing.

I don’t feel a single bit guilty.

– Artemis

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’re so much better than me. I got a week off, and have been using it to do absolutely nothing. And I’m dreading going back to work on Monday and giving that up.


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

